UArctic Chairs gathered in their first joint meeting at the University of Iceland in Reykjavik on October 12, 2022.

The meeting was organized to get to know each other and to discuss new ideas and actions, and how to organize Chairs’ work in the future.

UArctic Chairs are highly qualified academics who serve as academic drivers in a broad area of relevance to the Arctic. They implement and drive collaborative actions in research and education among UArctic Members and Thematic Networks, and build partnerships with the broader Arctic community. 

Read more on the event

UArctic Chairs: 

David Anderson - University of Aberdeen

Kirk Anderson - Memorial University of Newfoundland

Odd Jarl Borch - Nord University

Jan Borm - University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines

Melody Brown Burkins - Dartmouth College

Bing Chen - Memorial University of Newfoundland

Hanne Christiansen - University Centre in Svalbard

Kamrul Hossain - University of Lapland

Timo Jokela - University of Lapland

Roland Kallenborn - Norwegian University of Life Sciences

Karl Kreutz - Climate Change Institute - University of Maine

David Natcher - University of Saskatchewan

Philip Steinberg - Durham University

Tuija Turunen - University of Lapland

Jeff Welker - University of Oulu

Designed & Hosted by Arctic Portal